Ingenuity

 

 

                 Ingenuity is the quality of being clever, original, and inventive, often in the process of applying ideas to solve problems or meet challenges. Ingenuity (Ingenium) is the root Latin word for engineering. For example, the process of figuring out how to cross a mountain stream using a fallen log, building an airplane model from a sheet of paper, or starting a new company in a foreign culture all involve the exercising of ingenuity.” – Wikipedia

 

Ingenuity relates to imagination, cause imagination signifies originality of the asset of mind.

“The world is but a canvas to the imagination.”- Henry David Thoreau.

Imagination lets one see many outlooks. Imagination is the core to creativity and knowledge. It is the structure of a mental picture that is unreal, and is not there for the senses to detect.

Imagination is seeing, hearing, and experiencing with what is inside. When one closes their eyes and sees something, there are two things that are important for the imagination. The first is, we are seeing something that is not a part of reality. It is made up of fictional thoughts. The second thing to remember is that if one can see something, it must exist somewhere. If it does not exist physically, then it exists elsewhere. It may be the formation of thoughts to deal with a problem. One may be able to run issues that bother them over and over in their head. Soon, they make a list of resolutions. Imagination can help sort out what is the best outlook by forming a miniature film in one’s head.

Another feature of imagination is that, most of the time, what we see is almost exactly like something we have seen before in our life. Sometimes one can drift back to the past and reencounter experiences long lost to memory. As they relive these memories through imagination, it may cause one to think that they are seeing the actual physical thing or person. As complicating as it is, imagination can play tricks in one’s head and may mislead them.

Imagination activates one’s senses. For example, when writing, imagination comes into play. The five senses come alive as one imagines their connections and revisiting things in the past. For instance, one may seem something that reminds one of a past experience. As one flashbacks, a funny situation surfaces and one remembers exactly how the conversation went. Reality serves as a springboard, launching one into surprising places painted by one’s imagination

I believe that imagination can solve all of the world’s problems. Whether it is a political problem, a scientific problem, or just a problem in daily life, imagination can eventually solve it.

I have come to realize that whenever I attempt to solve a problem, I turn to one source: my imagination. I imagine potential solutions, improve upon them, and hopefully narrow my list down to one solution that works well. I have found that how often I solve difficult problems does not depend so much on my knowledge or intelligence so much as my creativity. For some reason, I thought, this was, and is, often mistaken for intelligence.

But when I thought about this some more, I realized that it made sense. Intelligence is basically the ability to come up with a solution to a difficult problem. With this definition, intelligence basically depends almost entirely on how a person puts his or her imagination to work.

I believe that anybody and everybody can become a great problem-solver, whether it be inventing new technology, negotiating peace between nations, or figuring out how to save money each year. It simply takes an active imagination.

Throughout my grade school career and this 4 years of high school, I have taken countless tests, and inevitably, had to answer many questions to which I did not know the answer. However, countless times I have still managed to answer correctly due to my method of solving problems: I imagine whatever it is I am trying to solve, come up with one or more possible solutions, improve upon them, and pick the one that works best. This is really all it takes to solve a problem.

There is no reason why this cannot be applied to the world’s greater problems. In fact, it already is. In many countless times, I have had to work with a team to get a problem solved. Basically, we brainstorm (imagine possible solutions), then improve upon each idea we came up with. Finally, we narrow our list of ideas down to one. I am quite sure I am not the only one who solves problems in this manner.

I also believe that the imagination needs to be stimulated in order to function at its best. I find that after I have been solving problems, answering quiz questions, or even listening to music or looking at artwork, I feel like I can take on the world.

And I hope that other people might try to use their imaginations to solve problems. It will take much imaginative power to solve the world’s greatest problems. But with my imagination, I know I can contribute. I believe in the power of imagination.

Sometimes I think that my imagination is too much for my body. That I don’t know how to adequately express it in my waking moments, and that it sometimes overpowers me, leaks out of my eyes and my ears and my fingertips. But not in the artistic ways. In the ways like a river overflows; the buildup is just too great and some of it has to go somewhere.

Sometimes, when I write, my mind blanks. I zone out. I have no idea what I just wrote, even if I’d been writing steadily for long periods of time. It’s as though my imagination has put me on autopilot, and takes over, frustrated to the point of seizing control when I least expect it. Often when I draw, even, I will have an incredible image in my mind. I will of course then begin my drawing on nice, white printer paper. And all of a sudden I don’t know how to draw. I can’t figure out how to get the image from my mind to my paper. And then during some class, I will begin to doodle. Just a pair of eyes at first, gradually becoming a full face, maybe a complete body. And before I know it, my subconscious mind has created a completely brilliant drawing.

And where I to say this anywhere else, I’d be considered a complete loony, but sometimes I think my imagination becomes near tangible. I’ll be completely alone, yet I swear I can hear a ghost of a whisper. I’ll slip and fall and something will catch me, place me upright again. There will definitely be something there, and yet, there is nothing.

My imagination is a being in itself. It is people, and places. It is sound, and thought. And it is so completely overwhelming that I can’t keep it inside, to the point that it overflows, pouring out my eyes, my ears, and my fingertips.

As a student, imagination helps a lot, having ingenuity of mind and heart will bring you through countless tragedies and problems. One of the greatest help of having ingenuity is for projects and arts, having the imagination, cleverness, originality makes your project stand out more than anyone else because you worked hard for it, thought about it and never gave up on doing it. Sometimes we imagine too much and the idea was way out of our league. But, anything is possible, so what’s wrong trying the impossible?

Ingenuity is a lost value. Why? It is forgotten, originality is forgotten, thrown and wasted. Not even recycled into something new. We’re too consumed by technologies and everything “every single thing” is found in the internet, type the keyword and tada! You’re done. It’s easy as “do re mi” as “one, two three”, “easy pissy living breezy”.

Technology made us who we are now, lazy ass people, and irresponsible individuals instead of reading books you have AUDIBLE and he/she will read the book for you, you have junkfoods and canned goods, if you’re too tired and lazy to get your ass up, snatch a junkfood, eat it and you’re full.

People tend to get lazier every single day in their lives. But some, gets more serious and studious in accordance for the better future you always wanted. When you start being someone responsible  now, you’re slot in the future is “free of charge” and “no passports needed, we got you”.

Having a better future is one of our dreams, but having a better relationship with God makes it more comfortable and dreamy.

“Have fun in being creative, it makes you unique and full ingenuity”

Kyla Madjad 

Leave a comment